Love and the Holy Spirit

Edith
4 min readJul 6, 2024

--

The Lord did not set His love on you nor choose you because you were more in number ….”

photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Existing within God’s love

Lately, I have been feeling led to share and speak of God’s love. This is mainly because I have seen Him move differently in such a reassuring manner over the last couple of months, and I feel compelled to share. On Pentecost Sunday, our church had a little raffle that involved picking out a specific gift for each believer present that day, and I picked out Love. Usually, I wouldn’t put much thought into such things, but this past year I have come to learn that God is a God of details. I realized that this was not just a piece of paper with the word “Love” written on it, but a promise by the Spirit that His love was going to follow me in this season. The Lord spoke on that day, and since then, I have seen the Lord shower me with His love at both the family and individual levels.

After Pentecost Sunday, as I was reading the book of Deuteronomy, I got to see and experience His love for the people of Israel, which now translates to His love for us under the new covenant. In Deuteronomy 6:10–11, God is so keen on reminding us that He is committed to bringing us into a land with good things, not because we deserve these good things, but because He is a promise keeper. One thing that we, as human beings, relate to love is receiving nice things from those who care about us. In this case, God speaks of gifting the Israelites beautiful cities they did not build and houses full of all good things.

Deuteronomy 6:10–11 (NKJV)

“So it shall be, when the LORD your God brings you into the land of which He swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give you large and beautiful cities which you did not build, houses full of all good things, which you did not fill, hewn-out wells which you did not dig, vineyards and olive trees which you did not plant — when you have eaten and are full — ”

As I reflect on this first half of the year, I can only testify to seeing God’s hand over my life. His love is one thing I can pinpoint as what has held me together. I have lived through situations that I would not have been able to get through without God holding my hand. He has sent help sometimes in the form of friends who have spoken into my life, and at other times He has given me joy as a gift to carry me through situations that my human eyes considered difficult.

Deuteronomy 7:7–8 (NKJV)

“The Lord did not set His love on you nor choose you because you were more in number than any other people, for you were the least of all peoples: but because the LORD loves you, and because He would keep the oath which He swore to your fathers, the Lord has brought you out with a mighty hand and redeemed you from the house of bondage, from the hand of Pharaoh king of Egypt.”

As we move into the second half of this year, God is reminding me that His love is what will sustain us. The word that is echoing through my life is that I have to grow in my faith in Him. It is from God that all good things flow. My challenge to you would be to also explore the book of Deuteronomy because it really serves as a reminder of God’s love for us as He walked with the Israelites in the desert. God tells the Israelites that He did not set His eyes on them because they were many in number, but simply because He loved them. So as you get through July to December 2024, carry God’s unwavering love as a shield as you go through your day-to-day activities. Are you struggling in school or in your career? Trust that the Lord will show you His love, lift you up, and ensure that you are the head and not the tail in any space you walk into. God’s love is what makes us Christians win and stand out in every room we walk into.

………………………

Thank you for reading. This piece was first published here

……………………….

Please feel free to leave a comment or email and share with me about which areas you expect God to move and help you in bearing fruit.

--

--

Edith

A Christ loving babe whose mission is to use her writing gift to minister to and to constantly jot down lessons learnt from God's lovely book (the bible) :)